Pay the Years

“But it hurts when I get out of bed.”

“What hurts, baby?”

“My heart.”

“Oh you’re much too young for that.”

 

Spent 25 years wasting my life

Just wandering around looking for a good time.

They say “Honey don’t you pay them years no mind.”

CAUSE THE FIRST DRAFT OF EVERYTHING IS ALWAYS SHIT.

 

When you’ve gone and spent enough time in a box

You stop needing windows and you quit using clocks.

There’s no difference in what time it is because

THE WRISTWATCH WIPED ITS FACE OFF.

 

Do you need something to make your hair stand up?

To depress your nervous system and loosen your cheeks?

…Surprised whining hasn’t done that yet.

You know that’s a favorite pass-time of mine.

Right next to counting zero dollars ’bout 47 times.

 

My boots are too heavy and my coat is too big.

If this is being a man, well I’d rather be a woman

But I look like a fish in red lipstick and

I CAN’T WALK IN HEELS.

 

With a bag of fool’s gold and a bucket of wooden nickels

I’ve got enough for an evening on the town.

If I’m spending papa’s coin with extra whiskey in my jacket

Honey, you know I’m paying the years no mind.

 

Leave a Reply

